Resources vs Friends

A bizzare comparison — may be worthwhile…??

arun simon
2 min readNov 29, 2021

A video made me think about the question of resources vs Friend (collaborator). You might wonder what is the relation between the two? Ressource is someone/something that is useful for me. I do have an “appreciation” for it as a ressource. A friend is someone/something with whom I have a relationship. A few questions can be asked…

  • How do I see God? As a ressource or a friend (collaborator/partner)…
  • How do I see my family?
  • How do I see nature? (big question in ecology and all our ecological activism)
  • How do I see other human beings, especially the poor? Do I consider them only as a ressource for my salvation? (As Jesus said, “whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me”).

The blunt questions are just to provoke the thinking… Our likes/desires/choices may not be so binary all the time (either this or that)… For eg, many might say that s/he has a relationship (or friendship) with God, but God is also big source and ressource for her/him.

In philosophical terms, the question is am I a utilitarian or not? I will be inclined to do activities that give happiness to me. In many cases, it may be perfectly okay. When I have to buy an ice-cream, I can buy the flavour which I like. But in other times, my actions which give happiness to me, may be the source of trouble for others. If I follow the principle that everything besides me (God, family, humanity, nature) becomes a ressource for me to get happiness, I can easily treat them in any way for my happiness. I will treat them well if that is helpful or good for me. On the other side of the spectrum, having a connection/relation/friendship helps us to see persons/things differently.

--

--

arun simon

A Jesuit with all the crazyness… Loves Jesus…Loves church, but loves to challenge too… Loves post modern philosophy & Gilles Deleuze.. Loves deep conversations…